skip navigation
The South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) is in its 14th season in 2021-22. Previously divided into the North, East, and West Divisions, the SECHC will compete in one division for scheduling purposes in 2021-22 to assist teams returning from


By Sarge Day, 08/02/21, 8:00PM EDT


The South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC) is in its 14th season in 2021-22. Previously divided into the North, East, and West Divisions, the SECHC will compete in one division for scheduling purposes in 2021-22 to assist teams returning from Covid-19 restrictions.

 The top-8 teams will advance to the SECHC Playoffs 18-20 February 2022 at the Ford Ice Center-Bellevue, TN. The top-4 teams, as determined by regular season play and results of the SECHC Playoffs will advance to the Fed Cup 18-23 March 2022 at the Ice Line Quad Rinks, West Chester, PA. The 17 SECHC teams also participate as proud members of the Collegiate Hockey Federation (CHF). SECHC “Tournament Bound” teams are identified as CHF Division II teams and SECHC Non-Tournament Bound teams are identified as CHF Division III teams.

The 17 SECHC teams as of the 2021-22 season are Alabama (Joined SECHC 2008-09) Conference championships 1 (2011-12) Auburn (Joined SECHC: 2010-11), Florida (Joined SECHC: 2008-09), Georgia (Joined SECHC: 2008-09), Conference Championships 3 (2016, 2017, 2019) Ole Miss (Joined SECHC 2009-09) Conference Championships 1 (2019-20) South Carolina (Joined SECHC: 2008-09), Tennessee (Joined SECHC: 2008-09), Conference Championships: 1 (2009) and Vanderbilt (Joined SECHC: 2008-09). Alabama-Huntsville, Clemson, Florida Atlantic, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Kennesaw State, Lynn, and Middle Tennessee State joined in the 2019-20 season. The most recent addition, Eastern Kentucky joined in 2020-21.

Former SECHC member Arkansas (Joined SECHC 2008-09) won 6 Conference Championships in 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, and 2017-18.

Due to a majority of the SECHC teams not being allowed to participate during the 2020-21 season as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, the conference canceled the regular season and subsequently canceled the 2020-21 SECHC Playoffs.

In the inaugural year of 2008-2009, eight teams participated in the SECHC Playoffs, hosted by the University of Alabama in Pelham, AL. The teams were seeded by their final rankings within the South region, and by their record within the SECHC. Tennessee and Georgia met in the first championship game, with Tennessee, coached by Steve Durrigan taking home the inaugural SECHC Playoffs Championship. The original members of the SECHC reached out to former longtime assistant coach and business manager (10-years) of Georgia Tech Hockey, Kenny “Sarge” Day to serve as the first SECHC commissioner. Prior to his coaching career at Georgia Tech; Day also served as Co-head coach of the University of California at Davis Aggies (UC-Davis) for two seasons in 1996-97 and 1997-98. Commissioner Day was unanimously re-elected and served as Commissioner for 8-seasons. Former Tennessee Head Coach Steve Durrigan served as SECHC commissioner during the 2016-17 season and current commissioner Justin Bradford has served as the SECHC leader since the 2017-18 season. Commissioner Bradford is the Host/Editor-in-Chief of Penalty Box Radio and is the author of “The Making of Smashville.”

The SECHC Championship Cup is named for former commissioner Sarge Day who continues to serve the conference as Commissioner Emeritus and Director of Hockey Operations and as a member of the SECHC Board. Day also serves as a Deputy Commissioner of the CHF. Commissioner Bradford and Georgia GM/assistant coach John Camp also serves as SECHC Board members. John Camp further serves the conference as assistant commissioner of the SECHC.

As the SECHC continues to expand and grow its fan base, teams are seeking out larger and more exciting venues; conference games and the championship playoffs are becoming sought-after events. The SECHC has hosted its conference championship playoffs in Pelham, AL at the Pelham Ice Complex; Columbus, GA at the Columbus Civic Center; Huntsville, AL at the Benton H. Wilcoxon Municipal Ice Complex and at the Ford Ice Centers at both Antioch, TN, and Bellevue, TN respectfully. (Co-sponsored by the Nashville Predators). Additionally, SECHC teams play games in exciting areas such as the Bridgestone Arena, Ford Ice Centers, Von Braun Center, Knoxville Coliseum, the Mid-South Ice House, the Pavilion, Palm Beach Ice Works, Florida Panthers Ice Den, the DeSoto Civic Center, the Lexington Ice Center, and the Savannah Civic Center, among others. In the spring of 2014, The Classic Center Exhibition Hall with seating capacity exceeding 2,000 became the University of Georgia’s new home arena in Athens, GA becoming the first on-campus hockey facility specifically constructed for a SECHC hockey program. UGA Hockey | Classic Center, GA.

This is about a voice for our players and our programs. Our players come first, always!

And remember…“You Can’t Step out of Bounds in Hockey!”